Posted in Uncategorized

“Who in the world am I? Ah, that’s the great puzzle.”

A question that has been at the forefront of my mind for some time now, although more particularly in the last month, is the seemingly simple question of “who am I?”. Or posited another way, “who do I want to be?”.

It’s only really been the last month where I’ve reached a point in my life that not only forced me to search for my answer, but also enabled me to find it.

Just last fortnight I was sat in what was supposed to be my new home for my first year at university. I was horribly alone, felt so desperate and hopeless, and thought I’d surely failed at life.

Now I’ve quit university and moved back home, not as a failure but because I know in my heart that university wasn’t the right move for me. So instead of lectures I’m spending my days enjoying the wonderful opportunities that are opening up to me from my big decision to call it quits on university.

I don’t have my life together by far. What I do have now, that perhaps I didn’t before, is the ability to really see and appreciate the opportunities that can come from surprising places. And at 21 years old, I fully intend to take full advantages of the opportunities placed into my life.

Every opportunity is one step closer to knowing the answer to the great puzzle of “who in the world am I?”

Author:

Hi! My name is Kerry-Mae, and I live near Manchester, UK. I mostly post on my Diary of a Nervous Girl personal blog, although I have another creative blog called Wicked Lovely Creations. Almost everything I post currently is related to a personal journey through mental illness, having lived with severe anxiety disorder from early childhood.

Leave a Reply

